Safety Engineering

As systems become increasingly complex, safety engineering pursues the important goal of minimising hazards, which may arise from many different factors and functions, to a residual risk that is as small as possible. In structural integration, safety engineering is responsible for ensuring that vital systems remain safe even if individual components fail. There are a wide number of qualitative and quantitative methods for analysing the safety of systems or subsystems and their functions. Here are a few to serve as examples.

FMEA (Failure Mode and Effects Analysis) is used primarily in the planning and development phase and only considers single faults, unlike FTA (Fault Tree Analysis), which examines faults that occur in combination.

Hazard and risk analysis classifies potential hazards and risks, taking into account the possible effects of undesirable system behaviour under all predictable operating conditions. Risk classes and different safety integration levels are defined for this purpose.

The IEC 61508 standard is considered the original prototype of many standards that relate to functional safety. It describes the complete basic lifecycle of safety-critical systems and divides systems with regard to their hazard potential into four requirements or risk classes (Safety Integrity Level / SIL). IEC 61508 enables the creation of further product and application-specific international standards.

In rail engineering, the most crucial of these are the EN 50126, 50128 and 50129 standards, developed by the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC), which are continually being further modified and have been adopted as DIN standards. The EN 50126 standard deals with the specification and proof of the reliability, availability, maintainability and safety (RAMS) of rail applications. The EN 50128 standard addresses the procedures, principles and measures required for software safety, whereas EN 50129 deals with safety-critical hardware, the whole system including software and regulatory approval processes.

InterEngineer performs process-related development of safety requirements. Once a safety plan has been created, hazards are then identified based on a risk analysis, which can later be resolved in the form of safety reports. A hazard log is created and kept continually updated. Risks that cannot be processed any further then enter the chain of evidence as residual risks. Finally, a proof of safety is created.

InterEngineer has established a successful, many times proven, computer-based process that is accepted by technical assessors. It enables homologation processes to be transparently designed and streamlined, and costs and lead times to be downsized.

Safety Compliance InterEngineer

Safety compliance

Our team assists you in bringing your products in line with standards and improving your processes. More…

Safety Engineering

Safety engineering

We take you through complex systems and our safety engineers are always at hand to help. More…

Safety Management by InterEngineer

Safety management

Our safety management is always geared towards market requirements. More…

Funktionale Sicherheit InterEngineer

Functional safety

We implement safety mechanisms for all conceivable cases in a system. More…

Funktionaler Nachweis InterEngineer

Functional verification

Making verification more efficient with our Meet the Standard software. More…

Consulting InterEngineer

Consulting

We integrate the latest changes in your company into all relevant processes. More…

Start typing and press Enter to search

Safety Engineering

In Zeiten immer komplexer werdender Systeme hat Safety Engineering das Ziel Gefährdungen, die durch verschiedene Faktoren und Funktionen hervorgerufen werden können, bis auf ein Restrisiko weitmöglichst zu minimieren. Safety Engineering ist bei der strukturellen Integration dafür verantwortlich, dass lebenswichtige Systeme auch bei Ausfall einzelner Komponenten weiterhin sicher bleiben. Es gibt eine Vielzahl von qualitativen und quantitativen Methoden zur Analyse der Sicherheit von Systemen oder Teilsystemen bzw. deren Funktionen, von denen hier einige beispielhaft erwähnt werden.

Die FMEA (engl.: Failure Mode and Effects Analysis) wird vor allem in der Planungs- und Entwicklungsphase eingesetzt und berücksichtigt ausschließlich Einzelfehler – im Gegensatz zur Fehlerbaumanalyse (FTA, engl.: Fault Tree Analysis), die Kombinationen des Auftretens von Fehlern untersucht.

Die Gefährdungs- und Risikoanalyse klassifiziert potentielle Gefährdungen und Risiken unter Berücksichtigung möglicher Auswirkungen im Fall eines unerwünschten Systemverhaltens unter allen voraussehbaren Einsatzbedingungen. Dafür werden Risikoklassen und unterschiedliche Sicherheitsintegrationslevel definiert.

Die Norm IEC 61508, die man als Urform vieler Normen bezüglich funktionaler Sicherheit bezeichnen kann, beschreibt den grundsätzlichen kompletten Lebenszyklus von sicherheitsgerichteten Systemen und unterteilt Systeme hinsichtlich ihres Gefährdungspotentials in vier Anforderungs- oder Risikoklassen (engl.: Safety Integrity Level, kurz SIL). Die IEC 61508 ermöglicht die Erstellung weiterer produkt- und anwendungsspezifischer internationaler Normen.

In der Bahntechnik sind dies im Besonderen die Normen EN 50126, 50128 und 50129, die durch das Europäische Komitee für elektrotechnische Normung „CENELEC“ entwickelt wurden, laufend weiter modifiziert werden und als DIN Normen übernommen wurden. Die Norm EN 50126 behandelt die Spezifikation und den Nachweis der Zuverlässigkeit, Verfügbarkeit, Instandhaltbarkeit und Sicherheit (RAMS, engl.: Reliability, Availability, Maintainability, Safety) für Bahnanwendungen. Die Norm EN 50128 befasst sich mit den Verfahren, Prinzipien und Maßnahmen für die Sicherheit von Software und EN 50129 behandelt die sicherheitsrelevante Hardware, das Gesamtsystem inklusive Software und Zulassungsprozesse.

InterEngineer führt die prozessbegleitende Entwicklung von Sicherheitsanforderungen durch. Nach Erstellung eines Sicherheitsplans werden Gefährdungen aufgrund einer Risikoanalyse identifiziert, welche später in Form von Sicherheitsberichten aufgelöst werden können. Ein Gefahrenprotokoll (engl.: Hazard Log) wird erstellt und aktuell gehalten. Risiken, die nicht weiter behandelt werden können, gehen als Restrisiko in die Nachweiskette mit ein. Abschließend wird ein Sicherheitsnachweis erstellt.

InterEngineer hat einen vielfach angewendeten, erfolgreichen rechnergestützten Prozess etabliert, der von Gutachtern akzeptiert wird. Hierdurch werden Homologationsprozesse gestrafft und transparent gestaltet sowie Kosten und Durchlaufzeiten verschlankt.

Safety Compliance InterEngineer

Safety Compliance

Unser Team hilft ihnen ihre Produkte den Normen anzupassen und Prozesse zu verbessern. Mehr…

Safety Engineering

Safety Engineering

Wir führen Sie durch die komplexen Systeme und stehen Ihnen als Safety-Engineers zur Seite. Mehr…

Safety Management by InterEngineer

Safety Management

Unser Safety Management orientiert sich immer an den Anforderungen des Marktes. Mehr…

Funktionale Sicherheit InterEngineer

Funktionale Sicherheit

Wir implementieren Sicherheitsmechanismen für alle erdenklichen Fälle in einem System. Mehr…

Funktionaler Nachweis InterEngineer

Funktionaler Nachweis

Nachweise durch den Einsatz unserer Software Meet the Standard effizienter erstellen. Mehr…

Consulting InterEngineer

Consulting

Wir binden aktuelle Veränderungen im Unternehmen in alle relevanten Prozesse ein. Mehr…

Kontakt

Schreiben Sie uns eine kurze Nachricht. Wir melden uns so schnell es geht.

Code nicht lesbar - neu laden! captcha txt

Geben Sie einen Suchbegriff ein um danach zu suchen.